Balmacewen Student Enrolment

Enrolments for 2025 school year are now open and will close at 3pm on Friday 30th August.  

To enrol a student please click here

Click here to view our Balmac Book which contains information about our school.

Please contact the school office if you have any questions regarding enrolment for the 2025 school year.

For details on the Balmacewen Zone please scroll down.

For any enrolment queries please email office@balmacewen.school.nz or contact our friendly team on 03 466 7251.


View our enrolment booklet here

Balmacewen School Zone

In order to avoid overcrowding or the likelihood of overcrowding, the Balmacewen Intermediate Board of Trustees has proposed an Enrolment Scheme.

Under this scheme, students will be enrolled if they live within the proposed home zone described below.

From Leighton Close along Tanner Road including Garden Place to Wakari Road.  Wakari Road to Taieri Road including Honeystone, Larkins, Rudd Road, Gilkison, Larkins, Hanlon, Strode, Stephen and Salmond Streets, Spiers Road and Turner Street.

From Taieri Road to Three Mile Hill Road to the corner of Dalziel Road.

Then on a line from Dalziel Road to the end of Frasers Road to Kaikorai Valley Road.  Then on a line to the intersection of Kenmure and Newport Streets, Kenmure Road to Mailer Street. Mailer Street to High Street to Queens Drive.; Along Queens Drive to Preston Crescent to Harcourt Street.

From the end of Harcourt Street to Lawson Street to Scarba Street including the end of Leven Street.  Across City Road to Sligo Terrace.  Then crossing Stuart Street to Littlebourne Road to Queens Drive.  Along Queens Drive to Lachlan Avenue onto Cannington Road.

Along Cannington Road including Braeview Crescent and Cairnhill Street and Walsh Lane.  Continue along Cannington Road to Burma Road and to Wakari Road.

The enrolment of out of zone students is governed by the provisions of the Education Act 1989. Enquiries to the school office.

Out of Zone Enrolments

Each year the board will determine the number of places likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the home zone. The board will publish this information in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area serving the school. The notice will indicate how applications are to be made and will specify a date by which all applications must be received.

Applications for enrolment will be processed in the following order of priority as set out in Section 11F, Education Act 1989.

Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school.

First Priority: This priority is not applicable as the school does not run a special programme approved by the Secretary.

Second Priority: Will be given to siblings of current students.

Third Priority: Will be given to siblings of former students.

Fourth Priority: Will be given to children of board employees.

Fifth Priority: Will be given to all other applicants.

If there are more applicants in the second, third, fourth or fifth priority groups than there are available places, selection within the priority group will be by a ballot conducted in accordance with instructions issued by the Secretary under Section 11G of the Education Act 1989.

Applicants seeking second or third priority status may be required to give proof of a sibling relationship.

Map of Balmacewen Zone